Commissioner Holly Merrill Raschein

Governor Ron DeSantis announced the appointment of Holly Raschein to the Monroe County Board of County Commissioners in September 2021. Raschein, of Tavernier, is Government Relations Director for AshBritt and a Market Advisor for First State Bank of the Florida Keys. Previously, she served eight years in the Florida House of Representatives and was a Project Coordinator for Baptist Health of South Florida. Raschein is a member of the Florida Housing Finance Corporation Board of Directors, Mariners Hospital Foundation Board, Leadership Monroe County Board, Florida Keys Healthy Start Coalition Board, and is a past member of the Florida Defense Support Task Force and the Florida Council on Arts and Culture. She earned her bachelor’s degree in political science from Florida State University and master of public administration from Florida International University.  

Commissioner Mike Forster

She was appointed to fill the seat of Commissioner Mike Forster, who died while in office in early September 2021. He was elected to the Monroe County Board of County Commissioners in November 2020. He moved to Monroe County in 1990 and was well known in the Florida Keys as an owner and operator of Mangrove Mike’s Cafe and Catering, established in 1998, Rain Barrel Retail Center (Silent Minority Partner) established in 2010, and Mangrove Mike’s Cafe at Bud & Mary’s Marina.

A resident of Key Largo, he was passionate about his three four-legged pups Kenny, Henry, and Ms. Joy and had interests in fishing, boating, spending time in Everglades National Park, and was proud to participate annually in Uganda Children’s Missions. 

Forster was elected to office in the Village of Islamorada and served five terms for 12 years (termed out in 2020). He was appointed mayor twice, vice mayor twice, and also previously served on the Islamorada Chamber Of Commerce Board Of Directors.