Human Services Advisory Board

The Human Services Advisory Board (HSAB) was created on March 13, 1991 with the adoption of Resolution No. 77-1991. There is a need for the Monroe County Board of County Commissioners to fund community-based agencies that provide needed health and social services for the citizens of Monroe County.

The purpose of this board is to review funding requests from non-profit human services agencies and make recommendations to the BOCC. The board bases its recommendations on an evaluation of the county’s needs, agency capability and past performance, and an established set of guidelines. An eligible organization must provide medical services, core services and/or quality of life services.

The advisory board consists of five members, with adoption of Resolution No. 056-1992, each county commissioner appointing one. Members’ terms will be two years or the termination of the respective appointing commissioner's term, whichever shall first occur provided that each board member serves on the board until the appointment of a successor.

FY2019 HSAB Funding Cycle Schedule
Budget Period:  October 1, 2018 - September 30, 2019

FY2019 HSAB Funding Recommendation Meeting
Date:  Wednesday, June 13, 2018
Time:  9:00 AM until all business is complete
Location: Marathon Gov't. Center
2nd floor BOCC Meeting Room
2798 Overseas Highway; Marathon, FL  33050
Agenda:  FY2019 Funding Meeting Agenda Packet 

FY2019 HSAB Funding Recommendations
FY2019 Applications Received

MCTV Video On-Demand* - Video Recording of HSAB Funding Recommendation Meeting (Click on Link):   

FY2019 HSAB First Meeting
Date:  Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Time:  9:00 AM until (approximately) 10:15 AM
Location: Marathon Gov't. Center
2nd floor BOCC Meeting Room
2798 Overseas Highway; Marathon, FL  33050
Agenda:  First Meeting Agenda Packet

MCTV Video On-Demand* - Video Recording of HSAB First Meeting (Click on Link):  

*MCTV Video On-Demand works best with Internet Explorer web browser.

ADA Assistance: If you are a person with a disability who needs special accommodations in order to participate in these proceedings, please contact the County Administrator's Office, by phoning 305-292-4441, between the hours of 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m., no later than five (5) calendar days prior to the scheduled meeting; if you are hearing or voice impaired, call "711." Accommodation Request Form.

FY2019 Grant Application Form & Instructions:
FY2019 Application:  FY2019 Grant Application (Fillable) Form **

**Note:  You MUST use Acrobat Reader XI or Acrobat Reader DC to complete and submit the application; other versions Adobe Acrobat do not appear to work with this application form.
Application Information & Instructions:  FY2019 Instructions

Previous Year's Funding Recommendations & Applications Submitted:
FY18 HSAB Recommendations

FY18 Applications Received 

FY17 HSAB Recommendations

FY17 Applications Received

FY16 HSAB Recommendations

FY16 Applications Received

Previous Year's Application Process: 
NEW FY18 HSAB Application
NEW FY18 HSAB Application Instructions
New HSAB Application Workshop Video

FY18 Funding Cycle: The HSAB application is now electronic. The electronic application and instructions can be downloaded here.
          Two workshops were held to help familiarize applicants with the functionality of the new application form and to get feedback. The application and the instructions have changed as a result of feedback received at the workshops.
          It is highly recommended you read the instructions and the application prior to beginning; this should prove to be beneficial in preparing you for the successful completion of the application.
          Please contact the Grants Office, contact information is located in the right hand column, with any questions you may have or if you experience any technical difficulties with the new application form.

Human Service Advisory Board (HSAB) Members

Michael Ingram
District 1
Expires: November 16, 2020
Sandra Higgs
District 2
Expires: February 20, 2021
Virginia Stones
District 3
Expires: February 20, 2021
David Manz
District 4
Expires: February 20, 2021
Bob Johnson
District 5
Expires: November 16, 2020